

## অসম লোকসেৱা আয়োগ

## **ASSAM PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION**

Jawaharnagar, Khanapara, Guwahati-22

No.32PSC/DR-46/1/2019-2020

Dated Guwahati the 29<sup>th</sup> December, 2020

## **NOTIFICATION**

In response to the advertisements, the Commission receives large numbers of applications with various academic Degrees/Diplomas conferred by Govt/private institutions of the country and even outside the country. While conducting scrutiny of such applications, the Commission is often put to great difficulties to ascertain the suitability/equivalence or otherwise of such Degrees. This causes burning up considerable time of the Commission leading to delay in recruitment process and Court cases on rejections. But an Equivalence Committee will go a long way in ameliorating the problems and to advise the Commission on equivalence of various academic degrees conferred by Government/Private academic institutions in matters of employment/recruitment to services and posts of the Government.

It is noteworthy that in pursuance of provision of procedure 6(K) of the Assam Public Service Commission (Conduct of Business) Procedure, 2019 notified vide notification No.210PSC/E-14/2017-2018 dated Guwahati, the 1<sup>st</sup> April, 2019, the Commission may decide to form an Equivalence Committee comprising of faculty members from the Universities, the IIT, Technical Colleges, Non-Technical Colleges and Institutions (Govt. and Private) and representative of concerned Govt. Department(s) to be chaired by the Chairperson of the Commission or his nominated representative to determine the equivalence of various degrees conferred by different institutions within the country and abroad.

Accordingly, the Commission is pleased to constitute an Equivalence Committee as under:

unue		T =	T = :
SI	Name and designation of the incumbents	Institutions/Departments etc.	Chairman/Member etc.
1	Chairman	APSC, Khanapara, Guwahati-22	Chairman
2	Representative of GU	Gauhati University	Member
3	<ul> <li>(i) Prof. Chitralekha Mahanta, Dean of Academic Affairs and Prof., Deptt. of Electronics and Electrical Engg</li> <li>(ii) Prof. Bulu Pradhan, Deptt. of Civil Engg.</li> <li>(iii) Prof. B.R. Boruah, Deptt. of Physics</li> </ul>	IIT, Guwahati	Member
4	Dr. Abhik Gupta, Professor, Deptt. of Ecology and Environmental Science	Assam University, Silchar	Member
5	Dr. B.R. Phukan, Academic Registrar,	Assam Science and Technology University, Guwahati	Member
6	Dr. Bhupendra Nath Choudhuri, Professor, Deptt. of Nematology	Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat	Member
7	Dr. Dhruba Kumar Bhattacharyya, Professor, Deptt. of Computer Science and Engineering and Dean, Academic Affairs	Tezpur University, Tezpur	Member
8	Dr. Nitul Kumar Gogoi, Professor, Deptt. of Anthropology	Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh	Member
9	<ul><li>(i) Dr. Shantanu Chakravarty, HOD, Deptt. of Political Science</li><li>(ii) Dr. Madhurjyajit Chakravarty, HOD, Deptt. of Geology</li></ul>	Cotton University, Guwahati	Member
10	Prof. Shakuntala Lashkar, HOD, Deptt. of Electrical and Electronics Engineering	Assam Don Bosco University, Guwahati	Member
11	Representative of Down Town University	Down Town University	Member
12	Prof. (Dr.) S.P. Singh, Vice-Chancellor	Royal Global University, Guwahati	Member
13	Registrar	Kaziranga University, Jorhat	Member
14	Dr. Atul Chandra Talukdar, School of Social Sciences & Humanities	University of Science and Technology, Meghalaya	Member
15	<ul><li>(i) Dr. Diptimoni Boruah, Associate Prof.,</li><li>Law</li><li>(ii) Dr. Topi Basar, Associate Prof., Law</li></ul>	National Law University and Judicial Academy, Assam	Member
16	Prof. (Dr) Hareswar Mahanta, OSD & Dy. Controller of Exam.	Srimanta Sankardev University of Health Sciences	Member
17	The Secretary to the Govt. of Assam	Agriculture Department, Guwahati	Member

18	The Senior most Secretary to the Govt. of	Education (Higher), Guwahati	Member
	Assam		
19	Director of Technical Education, Assam or his	Technical Education, Guwahati	Member
	representative		
20	Principal Controller of Exam.	APSC, Khanapara, Guwahati-22	Member
21	Secretary	APSC, Khanapara, Guwahati-22	Member-Secretary
22	Any other member of institutions to be		Member
	inducted by the Committee		

The advice of the committee will be the guiding principle for the Commission to finalize the eligibility criteria relating to the equivalence of degrees.

The first meeting of the Equivalence Committee has been convened on **11.01.2021 at 11.30 AM** in the office premises of Assam Public Service Commission, Jawaharnagar, Khanapara, Guwahati-22.

A separate letter/e-mail is being sent in this regard to all the Members to attend the meeting.

Sd/-Secretary Assam Public Service Commission Khanapara, Guwahati-22